Review Time

Earlier today I had my annual performance review. It was ok. Alright it was dissappointing. It’s really hard to take “feedback” when it’s only given once a year. This results in a lot of surprises and is generally unfair to employees.

I don’t want to sound like a whiner. But it would be nice to hear throughout the year how I’m doing, do I need anything, and am I on target with my goals. This is the first time in my professional career that I’ve not had written goals approved on by my manager and me. Normally I would be relieved that I have such flexibility and trust…except that I know every year it will be used against me during my annual review.

The current manager I have is overwhelmed and it shows.

Instead of looking at this with extremely critical eyes, I’m looking at this as a learning experience. Things I will not do as a manager. I hope that this doesn’t work the day the list of things I will not do as a parent does. 🙂

Leave a Reply

