The importance of project planning

Wow. Friday is finally here. It has been a busy week which is why I have not posted much. I’m getting ready to unplug for the weekend and wanted to check in.

This week has been crazy! I got sucked into a project that is consuming a lot of my time and really has nothing to do with my job. The whole project was poorly planned. When there is not good planning and leadership it really shows when it comes time for implementation. And I’m sorry but another department’s lack of planning does not result in my emergency.

Next week I have to set boundaries and it will be hard. For privacy I can’t give too many details but I can give an illustration. Let’s say you are a graphic designer and another department is working on a new product launch. Ideally you would be involved from the beginning to get a feel for the product and have time to make a great design with ample time for feedback and revisions. But instead you are asked a week before product launch to develop an entire marketing campaign. I’m sure you’ve been there.

As frustrating as this is for me, it’s also a great lesson for my own future projects.

Lesson Learned:

  • Make sure to involve stakeholders in the beginning. Let them know what will be expected and when so they have time to fit it in to their busy schedules.
  • Another person’s lack of planning is not your emergency.
  • Learn how to say no.
  • Remember that it’s just work! In 6 months I won’t care about this so there is no point in being frustrated now.
One response to “The importance of project planning

  1. You raise a very good point:

    Make sure to involve stakeholders in the beginning. Let them know what will be expected and when so they have time to fit it in to their busy schedules.

    One of the primary reasons of project failure is the lack of stakeholder sponsorship and/or the low involvement of the stakeholders.

Leave a Reply

