Today is worse than a Monday

Excuse me while I whine for a minute.

I have a headache. I don’t want to be at work today. I don’t feel like doing anything. I have not accomplished anything today. I really think that I need to start unplugging while I am at work. I have IM running, Twitter running, email notifications, the phone. It seems as though something pops up or makes a noise on my screen every few seconds. It is impossible for me to concentrate.

Then there is work. I’m just not motivated today. I have the thought that all the hard work I have done could be pulled out from under me in the blink of an eye with the changes in my organization. I need an attitude check.

Tomorrow I have a full calendar. I won’t even be in my office for more than a few minutes.

Do you ever have days like this? How do you get through them?

4 responses to “Today is worse than a Monday

  1. Oh your post summed up my week at the moment!
    Bad days are bad days and generally (if not hopefully) the end of the day will come (quickly – hoefully!)
    I always just have to think that the end of the day is insight and things could be a lot worse. I happened to read your latest post ‘inspiration’ first and i think that hold a lot of the answers to your questions too. I especially liked
    10. Forget about your complaints, focus on your gratitude.
    This is something I need to work on and I think I will take your lead it putting it on my desktop.
    I hope your day got better and you have a great week!

  2. Sorry to hear what a rough day it was. Hopefully today is better even though it sounds busy.

  3. Sounds very familiar to my days. Prioritizing is very difficult and I just don’t feel supported well at my job. Not a lot of umph to get going on some things. I think unplugging is the key, but I’d like to find a way for it to not be so all or nothing. I’m always looking at what everyone else is doing and admiring it but not doing much to make it happen where I am though I want to. Seems to require too much energy to get buy-in at mpow for it to happen. Too many other fires management is focused on for my ideas. I also appreciated your list in your other post and it is now printed out and on my bulletin board. Thanks for sharing your journey.

  4. Amanda – You are so right. Bad days do always come to an end. It’s funny I had a lot of bad days in high school and in hindsight it has not made much of a difference in my life. Thank you for your comments.

    Katelin, Yes things did get better. Busy but better!

    Sally, Thank you for sharing your situation. Sometimes it is just good to know that we are not alone. p.s. I’m always available if you need to vent!

Leave a Reply

